Below is a list of the artists who have won prizes at the annual exhibitions of the Royal Society of Marine Artists since 2013. 

We would like to thank the individuals and companies who so generously award these prizes.

To submit your work to future open exhibitions and be in with a chance of winning a prize, find out more about our Call for Entries here.

If you are interested in awarding a prize at Mall Galleries / Federation of British Artists, please contact Alistair Redgrift, Exhibitions Manager at

The Artist Magazine Award

2014: Douglas Gray RSMA, Cromer Point

2015: Jamel Akib, Pull 2

2016: James Bartholomew RSMA

2017: Natalia Avdeeva ROI

2018: Pete Nance

2019: Brian Fleming ARSMA


The Arts Club Charitable Trust Award

2013: Michael Sole, Burton Bradstock No. 6


The Baltic Exchange Award

2018: David Atkins, The Sea at Portland Bill

2019: Matthew Draper PS, Nocturne with a Polluted Light (Part VI)


The Charles Pears Award

2013: Deborah Walker RI, North Easterly; Farne Islands

2014: Jamel Akib, Pull

2015: Tony Williams, Ship with Moon

2016: Matthew Draper PS, Nocturne with Reflections, Falmouth Harbour

2017: David Hawthorne, Low Tide

2018: Pete Nance, Reflections, Polperro Harbour

2019: Tony Allain PS, Low Water, Porthleven


The Classic Boat Award

2013: Brian J Jones, Shamrock Powering to Windward

2014: Brian J Jones, Lulworth, Mariquita and Moonbeam

2015: Sheena Bevis-White, Juno

2016: Geoff Hunt PPRSMA

2017: J F Morgan RSMA

2018: Maarten Platje, Racing in the Solent 1926

2019: Tim Hall RSMA, Butterfly, Rose of Argyll, Mousehole


The Conway Maritime Press Award

2013: David Howell RSMA, Rain and Barges, Pin Mill


The Derek Gardner ‘Sea & Sky’ Award

2013: Martin Swan RSMA, Passing the Needles, Monday 8th August 1927

2014: Robert Grimson, The Kathleen & May in Mounts Bay

2015: James Williams, Into the Light

2016: J F Morgan RSMA, The Dawn Haul

2017: John Lines RSMA RBSA, Helping Hand

2018: Maarten Platje, The Clippership Sir Lancelot passing South F 

2019: Geoffrey Huband RSMA, Chimera


The Kenneth Denton Award

2018: James Bartholomew RSMA, Atlantic Blue 4 

2019: Deborah Walker RSMA RI, Sunlight and Shadows


Murray's Commercial Fishing Award

2019: Neil Faulkner RSMA, Offloading, Tenby Harbour


The R K Burt Paper Prize

2013: David Allen RSMA, Sunny Day on The Zattere

2014: John Lines RSMA, River Tees Departure

2015: Margaret Heath RSMA, Winter Sunrise, Lymington Quay

2016: Wendy Borello RSMA

2017: Deborah Walker ARSMA RI, After Silence

2018: Peter Cronin RSMA, Morning Sun

2019: Brian Smith, Unloading


RSMA Award for the Best Small Painting

2019: Benjamin Mowll PRSMA, Dawn Light, Venice


The RSMA 35 or Under Award

2016: Natalia Avdeeva ROI, Warm Sands

2017: Natalia Kuptsova, Arrival


The RSMA New Generation Award

2018: Frances Bell RP, Bamburgh Cattle in the Snow

2019: Andrzej Szymczyk, Large Seahorse


The Russell & Chapple Prize

2013: Douglas Gray RSMA, Leaving Scarborough

2014: Keith Noble RSMA, Sunset, Rye Harbour

2015: John Lines RSMA, Brisk Day Departure

2016: Bruce Williams, Clouds over the Swale

2017: Alice White, Enteroctopus Dofleini, oil and ink

2018: Claire Paul, Sea near Cancale 

2019: Claire Wiltsher, Time Collector VI


The Sea Pictures Gallery Award

2013: Tim Hall, Maritime Festival, Mousehole

2014: Brian A Collins, Sea Trials II

2015: David Nixon, Highrise

2016: Brian Smith, Fighting the Elements

2017: Martin Swan VPRSMA, St Helens Fort

2018: Henrietta Graham, Newlyn Fish Market

2019: Simon Conolly, A Day at the Seaside


The Topbond Marine Award

2016: Mick Dean, Under the Wharf

2017: Tony Feld, Offshore

2018: Tony Feld, Portslade Dock Crane

2019: Tony Williams ARSMA, Swinging a Plate


The Winsor & Newton Oil Prize

2013: Rowena Wright RSMA, Gurnard Cardinal Mark

2014: Tony Feld, Fishing Floats – Staithes

2015: Bruce Williams, Breakwater and Neptune

2016: Charles Inge, Tethered Beach Hut

2017: Gillian Roberts, Staithes Roofs

2018: Lucinda Storm, Storm Ahead, Polzeath Beach, Cornwall

2019: Tom Marsh, Early Morning - Hastings Fishing Fleet