24-333333-normal 17-333333-normal 12-333333-normal 17-ffffff-normal 14-ffffff-normal
*
 
Home > What's On

What's On


The Threadneedle Space


Built

Mon 25 June - Sat 7 July 2012, Daily 10am-5pm Closed Tuesday 26th June for Symposium event (closes 3pm final day)
Click here to enlarge the pictureClick here email this exhibition link to a friend

Built showcases the work of four prominent British artists who have made drawings paintings and sculpture recording, depicting and responding to the construction of signature buildings in the UK.
The artists are:
Anthony Eyton R.A. Artist in residence at the Eden project over a 10 year period and invited artist at Millbank during construction of Tate modern;
Jeanette Barnes past Jerwood Drawing prize winner and Hunting Prize award winner who has been recording the construction of seminal buildings in the city of London and most recently, the Olympic arenas;
Julia Midgley R.E. Reader Documentary Drawing, and past winner of both the Rainford Trust and Printmaking Today Awards  who was project Artist in Residence during the construction of Liverpool John Moores University's Art & Design Academy designed by Rick Mather.
Patricia Cain who is curating this exhibition was on-site over a period of three years during the construction of Hadid’s acclaimed Riverside Transport Museum in Glasgow for which she was winner of last year's Threadneedle and Aspect Prizes. She is currently resident on site at Hydro arena at Glasgow’s SECC.


A day-long symposium; Construction: Knowing through making wil be taking place on Tuesday 26 June from 10am to 4.30pm. Visit www.mallgalleries.org.uk/events for information on how to book your place

Future Exhibitions

Society of Wildlife Artists
Thu 30 October - Sun 9 November 2014

Find out more

ING Discerning Eye
Thu 13 - Sun 23 November 2014

Find out more

New English Art Club
Fri 28 November - Sun 7 December 2014

Find out more

Royal Institute of Oil Painters
Wed 10 - Sun 21 December 2014

Find out more

FBA Futures
Mon 26 - Sat 31 January 2015

Find out more


 
Mind Unit - websites, content management and email marketing for the arts