The Royal Society of Oil Painters Prize winners were announced at the Private View on the 1st December.

Opening the exhibition Ian Cryer, President of the ROI said that "the Institute is determined to maintain and raise the standards of work on show. The feeling is that this year we have again exceeded previous years in this regard."

Below are the Prize Winning works from the 123rd Annual Exhibition of the Royal Institute of Oil Painters.

L. Cornelissen & Son Prize

Roger Dellar ROI, The Cocktail Bar, RAC


Frank Herring Easel Award

David Walker, From Lambeth Bridge


The Dry Red Press

Linda Alexander AROI, Still Life with Anemones


The Alan Gourley Memorial Award

Christopher Keays ROI, Holly Hill Hampstead


The DAS Award

Peter Graham ROI, Age of Elegance


The Artist Magazine Award

Richard Combes ROI, Paint Brush


The Menena Joy Schwabe Memorial Award

Clive Burnell, Horseshoe


The Le Clerc Fowle Medal

Michael Weller, February Pears


Winsor & Newton Young Artist Award (Third Prize)

Harriet Spratt, Ben


Winsor & Newton Young Artist Award (Second Prize)

Andrew Farmer, Self Portrait


Winsor & Newton Young Artist Award (First Prize)

Bernadett Timko, Self Portrait


Call for Entries

Founded in 1882, the ROI seeks works in oils and is the only national art society devoted exclusively to oil painting. The call for entries open on 23 May 2016.

For more information please click here.