Royal Institute of Oil Painters

The aim of the Royal Institute of Oil Painters is to uphold the age-old tradition of oil painting

ROI logo black jpg

The ROI takes a keen interest in encouraging the development of younger artists, notably through the Winsor & Newton Awards which has become an important feature of the Institute’s Annual Exhibition.

Adebanji Alade - President

The aim of the Royal Institute of Oil Painters (ROI) is to uphold the age-old tradition of painting in oils, whilst giving encouragement to outstanding young oil painters of the future.

The Institute has over 60 elected members and includes many of the leading artists in the country. It encompasses all styles and techniques, which is a tradition that goes back to its inauguration.

Founded in 1882, the Institute is proud of its royal status, granted by King Edward VII in 1909.

Video: ROI Annual Exhibition 2023

Call for Entries

Artists are invited to submit work for exhibition alongside members of the Royal Institute of Oil Painters at the ROI Annual Exhibition.

Several prizes and awards are available to win.

Prizes & Awards

Winsor & Newton Young Artist Award: First Prize


2023: Max White, Thaw, The Old High Stret, Oxted

2022: Jie Zhuang, An Ordinary Day

2021: Hanie Soltani, Still Life in Time

2020: Ruth Fitton, Self Portrait in Miniature

2019: Bernadett Timko, Lazy Boy (Study of Max II)

2018: Andrew Farmer, The Garden

2017: Frances Bell, The Reading Lesson

2016: Alice Boggis-Rolfe, Canoes on The Dordogne

2015: Bernadett Timko, Self Portrait

2014: Elizabeth Thayer, Greenwich Meridian Trail

2013: James Bland, Reclining Figure, Evening

Winsor & Newton Young Artist Award: Second Prize


2023: Noah Rush, Leo

2022: Robert Ware, Self Portrait with Pearl Earring

2021: Ruth Fitton, Grace, at Dusk

2020: Anna Calleja, Alone in Quarantine

2019: Max Mansbridge-West, Creature Comfort

2018: Bernadett Timko, B II

2017: Maria Rose, Falmouth Custom House Quay

2016: Rob Pointon, The Red Door, Montmartre

2015: Andrew Farmer, Self Portrait

2014: Tom Hughes, Gerbera with Origami Bird

2013: Ellen Tovey, Sasha

Winsor & Newton Young Artist Award: Third Prize


2023: Benjamin Wilshaw-Quinn, Self Portrait (2023)

2022: Thomas Golunski, Amy Li

2021: Max White, Tenby's North Beach, August Morning

2020: Bernadett Timko, Chris' Kitchen

2019: Lewis Hazelwood-Horner, Eel Be Alright

2018: Tom Stevenson, Weekend on the Cathedral Close

2017: Diana Savostaite, Green Kitchen

2016: Tom Stevenson, Beer, Devon

2015: Harriet Spratt, Ben

2014: Rosalie Watkins, Study of Howard

2013: Stephanie Pijper, Studio 6.13

The ROI Themed Painting Prize 


2023: David Sawyer RBA, Borough Market

2022: Kayla Martell, Roe

The Stanley Grimm Prize


2023: Laura Arenson, Karen Popham

2022: Svetlana Semenova; Ollie Tuck

2021: Peter Wileman FROI RSMA; Nicholas Verrall ROI RBA

2020: N/A

2019: Nic Dartnell; Madeline Fenton

2018: Liz Bailey; Dorian Radu

2017: Lucy McKie ROI; David Curtis ROI RSMA

2016: Mick Dean; Linda Alexander AROI; Michael Alford

2015: Chris Bennett ROI; David Walker

2014: Anna Redwood ROI; Chris Rigby

2013: Jeremy Barlow ROI; Richard Price ROI

2012: Valeriy Gridnev ROI PS RP; Bill Dean ROI

The Tony Merrick Memorial Prize 


2023: Ulrich Suberg, Young Girl with Headphones and Red Background

2022: Michelle Anderson, Hinterland

2021: Sarah Freeman

2020: Michelle Anderson, Fieldspan

2019: Amanda Coleman, Milk Jug and Mantelpiece

The ROI Emerging Artist Prize


2023: Kayoon Anderson, In the Bath

2022: Liza Sivakova, Anxiety

2021: Max White

2020: Owain Hunt

2019: Ruth Fitton, Nymphs (Diptych)

The Small Painting Prize ​​​​​​​


2023: Nia MacKeow, Hereford Cow

2022: Sarah Manolescue, Last Night, Bramshott

2021: Tom Marsh ARSMA, Evening Light, Fields, Battle, E. Sussex

2020: Angela Bell, Tom in the Light

2019: John Dobbs NEAC SWLA, Lemon and Spoon

The Menena Joy Schwabe Memorial Award 


2023: Haidee-Jo Summers VPROI RSMA

2022: Benjamin Hope ROI NEAC PS RP RSMA

2021: Luis Morris ROI

2020: Adam Ralston

2019: Andrew Farmer AROI

2018: Rob Pointon, St Pancras, Late Morning

2017: Julia Hawkins, Bernard

2016: Bill Dean ROI

2015: Clive Burnell, Horseshoe

2014: Gerry Halpin, Bay II, West Wales

2013: Trevor Chamerlain ROI RSMA

Winsor & Newton Non-Member Award 


2023: Sam Burke, Deep Dive I

2022: Anna Redwood ROI, A Thousand Hours

2021: Paul Heredia, Mirror Test 15.6.21

2020: Andrew Newton, Lip Gloss

2019: Jennifer Anderson, Drinking Her In

2018: Stuart Howitt, Simian Simulacrum

2017: Benjamin Hope, Bathurst Firewood

2016: Dennis Spicer, Three Lemons, Three Figs (And a Horse)

2015: Bruce Williams, Whitstable Bay

The Le Clerc Fowle Medal 


2023: Andrew Farmer ROI 

2022: John Walsom ROI RSMA 

2021: Stewart Beckett

2020: David Curtis ROI RSMA

2019: Luis Morris ROI

2018: David Pilgrim ROI

2017: Bill Dean ROI

2016: Tony Merrick ROI

2015: Michael Weller

2014: Chris Rigby, Hevadale

2013: Peter Brown Hon RBA NEAC PS ROI RP

Frank Herring Easel Award


2023: Peter Graham ROI, The Sound of Iona 

2022: Andrew Hird, Morning Shadows - Juan Les Pins

2021: Adam Ralston

2020: Thomas Arthurton, Rooftop View of St Petersburg

2019: David Pilgrim ROI, Old Harry and the Blues

2018: Roger Ferrin ROI, Low Water, Exmouth 

2017: Michael John Ashcroft, Grey Skies, Yorkshire

2016: Adam Ralston, Hottest Day of the Year

2015: David Walker, From Lambeth Bridge

2014: Graham Webber, Lands End

2013: David Walker, Bridge Work

The Artist Magazine Award


2023: Tom Stevenson ROI, Alstroemeria

2022: Adam Ralston AROI, You're Gonna Need a Bigger Bowl

2021: Rob Pointon ROI, Piccadilly Flow

2020: Tim Benson PROI NEAC RP, Self Portrait by Lamplight

2019: John Walsom ROI ARSMA, Waterloo, The Graffiti Tunnel

2018: Frederick Coppin, Georgie

2017: Lucy McKie ROI, Christina

2016: Anna Redwood ROI, What Now?

2015: Richard Combes ROI, Paint Brush

2014: Lachlan Goudie ROI, Spring; Tom Wanless ROI, Countryside in Winter

2013: David Walker, White Hoarding in Morning Light

The Dry Red Press Award 


2023: Lucy McKie ROI, See-saw

2022: Lizzie Black, The Cream Tea

2021: Michael Alford, Eastbound, Piccadilly

2020: Daniel Roy Sharples, Bridesmaid

2019: Haidee-Jo Summers ROI RSMA

2018: Colette Clegg, Chioggia Beets

2017: Peter Graham ROI, Tulips in Bloom

2016: Valeriy Gridnev ROI PS RP, In the Studio

2015: Linda Alexander AROI, Still Life with Anemones

2014: Lucy McKie, Cherries on Paper Bag

Art Academy London Award 


2023: Kayoon Anderson, In the Bath 

Art Academy London Student Prize 


2023: Karyn Johnstone, The Show's Over

The Dartington Crystal Chalice


2023: Luis Morris ROI

2022: Linda Alexander ROI

2021: Adebanji Alade VPROI

2020: David Pilgrim ROI

2019: David Curtis ROI RSMA

2018: Haidee-Jo Summers ROI ARSMA

2017: Tim Benson VPROI

2016: June Mendoza ROI RP Hon SWA

2015: Roger Dellar ROI PS RI

2014: Lucy McKie ROI

2013: Bill Dean ROI

Past Exhibitions

Browse past exhibition catalogues on Issuu

Rob Pointon, Visitors to the Royal Institute of Oil Painters Annual Exhibition

About us

Discover our story

Join our mailing list

Receive the latest updates and announcements

Art Consultancy

Our Art Consultancy specialises in commissioning and curating fine art.

Find Out More

Venue Hire

Located in Central London, Mall Galleries offers over 450sqm of dedicated space, perfect for your next exhibition or event.

Find Out More

Connect with us